Confirmation is a public rite of the church preceded by a period of instruction designed to help baptized Christians identify with the life and mission of the Christian community.

From Luther’s Small Catechism with Explanation, question #306

LETTER TO UPCOMING 7th & 8th GRADERS

WHY CONFIRMATION

1.) Confirmation is a re-affirmation of one’s baptism. It is an opportunity to learn more deeply on what it means to be a baptized child of God.

2.) Confirmation provides further instruction in the sacramental life, increasing the catechumen’s understanding of Christ’s gifts.

PURPOSE

The purpose of confirmation is to prepare the catechumen for a commitment to a life of Christian discipleship.

OUR GOAL

Our goal is to prepare young people to make confident, public confession of their faith. We will do everything within our power – together – to help them understand the gift of Christ’s forgiveness and how that is expressed in worship and life. Our practice is pretty simple: teach kids the Catechism and help them begin to live it out.

KEY DATES

for 2016-2017

  • Sun, May 22, 2016. REQUIRED Confirmation Meeting at 9:15 a.m.
    • Make-up meeting Wed, May 25, 2016 @ 6:30 p.m.
  • Mon, Aug 1, 2016. Signed “Covenant of Participation” turned in.
  • Wed, Aug 24, 2016. Fall Confirmation Parent meeting @ 7:30 p.m.
  • Tue, Aug 30/Th, Sept 1, 2016. 1st day of St. Paul’s school confirmation classes.
  • Sun, Sept 11, 2016.  Confirmation pre-requisites completed and tested. 1st day of public school confirmation class.
  • Foundation Knowledge Deadlines
    • Sept 30, 2016: Apostles’ Creed: Art. 2-3 + Explanations
    • Oct 31, 2016: Holy Baptism 1-4 + Explanations
    • Nov 30, 2016: Sac. of the Altar: Qs 1-4 + Explanations
    • Dec 18, 2016: Lord’s Prayer: Intro-2nd Pet + Explanations
    • Tue, Jan 31, 2017. Lord’s Prayer: 3rd-6th Pet + Explanations
    • Wed, Feb 15, 2017. Lord’s Prayer: 7th Pet & Conc. + Explanations
    • Wed, Mar 29, 2017. Confession & Ofc of the Keys + Explanations
    • Sun, Apr 30, 2017. Commandments 5-10 + Explanations
  • Wed, Dec 23, 2016. Notification of Progress for Spring Confirmation.
  • May 7, 2017. Spring Confirmation at 8:00 am service.
  • Sun, May 21/Tue, May 23. Last day of 2016-2017 confirmation classes.
  • June 25, 2017. Summer Confirmation at 8:00 am service.